Serving the Goreville & Lake of Egypt areas since 1977


Concert series, fireworks rescheduled for Oct.

Posted July 11, 2012 by Joe Rehana in News

Despite the heat, hundreds of people lined the streets of Goreville, Wednesday, July 4, 2012 to enjoy the Freedom Fest parade as it made its way down Broadway.

With temperatures reaching record highs and drought conditions persisting throughout Southern Illinois, the Goreville Freedom Fest committee had little choice in postponing its Fourth of July evening concert series and fireworks display this past week.

The committee announced Friday the events would return Oct. 20 as part of Goreville Schools’ Fall Fest.

“We’ll have the same concert series that was going to play on the Fourth,” said Freedom Fest committee chairman Dusty Lingle.  “We’ll have Remedy opening for Cache River and then Cache River will play up until the fireworks.”

The tentative time for Remedy to take the stage is set for 5:30 p.m. with the Cache River Band scheduled for 7 p.m. and the fireworks around 9 p.m., said Lingle. The rescheduling of the concert series and fireworks allows for a bigger Fall Fest and an anticipated higher turnout.

While the numbers in attendance were down for the Fourth of July event due to the weather, the overall level of participation was greater than expected, said Lingle. The 5K Freedom Run registered 110 athletes with 10 of the 16 classes recording new records and Goreville resident Sarah Forby setting a new overall record for females. The car show had 60 entries and the parade 80 with Daughters of the American Revolution winning best of show.  Further results are posted below with full race results available online at

“I think everybody was pleased,” said Lingle. “We just can’t predict the weather and mother nature had something different for us this year than what we wanted of course, nevertheless the same work goes into it.”

Committee vice-chairman Jason Beckmann echoed Lingle’s sentiments in a statement issued Monday wishing to personally thank the many volunteers who put in their time to bring about the festival.  The committee is already setting it sights on next year’s Fourth of July and Lingle said its new Freedom Fest web site and facebook page are tools they intend to use to further engage the community in making the event bigger and better.

“We want to make this event for the people in the community,” said Lingle, adding that the committee is open to suggestions. “If there’s something we’re doing wrong, or if there’s something that we can do better, we want to know about it. We want to try and make this the best event for everybody who attends.” provides a contact form for those wishing to submit suggestions and/or ideas to the committee as well as hosting news and information on times and locations when the committee will reconvene to officially begin planning for Freedom Fest 2013.

5K first place race results

Overall Male: Terry Okerson with a time of 19:50.824

Overall Female: Sarah Forby with a time of 22:07.461

Male 19 and under: Kyle Adams with a time of 22:38.668

Female 19 and under: Megan Adams with a time of 25:35.536

Male 20-29: Alex Robertson with a time of 23:04.401

Female 20-29: Melody Schmidt with a time of 22:23.091

Male 30-39: Lane Boyer with a time of 23:03.736

Female 30-39: Sarah Forby with a time of 22:07.461

Male 40-49: Lee Boyer with a time of 20:28.786

Female 40-49: Nancy Adams with a time of 22:42.517

Male 50-59: Terry Okerson with a time of 19:50.824

Female 50-59: Susan Kramer with a time of 28:45.606

Male 60-69: No entries

Female 60-69: Judy Panozzo with a time of 37:28.937

Male 70+: Lenny Bruce with a time of 36:50.276

Female 70+: No entries

Non-competitive Walk top three

Tracy Rone with a time of 47:11.599

Sonja Jaimet with a time of 49:07.628

D. Jaimet with a time of 49:07.629

Kids Fun Run top three

Grace Dotson with a time of 5:00.299

Tori Benard with a time of 6:19.070

Austin Shadowen with a time of 6:57.739

Specialty Winners of the 3rd annual Freedom Fest Car Show

Best of Show: Edgar Bledson-1964 Chevy

Mayor’s Choice: Bob Aydt-1984 Chevy

Best GM: J Boyd-1937 Chevy

Best Ford: Ronnie Padriski-1937 Ford

Best Mopar: Dwayne Garrett-2006 Dodge

Best: Other Bob Clay-1990 Toyota

Best Interior: William and Sandy Crabtree-2004 Corvette

Best Paint: Brandon Vaughn-1985 Chevy

Best Graphics: Dwayne Garrett-2008 Dodge

Best 4×4: Clyde and Trish Shafer-1977 Chevy

Parade Judges’ top picks

Best of Show: Daughters of the American Revolution

First Place: Lick Creek Pentecostal Church

Second Place: Goreville Methodist Church

Third Place: Harbor Church